ARREST FOR FAILING TO REGISTER
During the week of Monday December 8, 2015, Detective Adam J. Hess of the Megan’s Law Unit of the Special Investigations Bureau of the Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office, along with Senior Parole Office Timothy Sullivan, opened an investigation into twenty-six (26) year old Ronnie Kimball for the third (3rd) degree crime of failure to register pursuant to Megan’s Law. The crime date is alleged to have occurred on or about Sunday November 28, 2015. Registrants are required by New Jersey state law to either register annually or every ninety (90) days with the police department of the municipality in which they reside and when they change addresses, employment and schooling. The investigation revealed that Kimball failed to register in with the Toms River Township Police Department and was residing in said municipality. An arrest warrant was reviewed and approved by Assistant Ocean County Prosecutor Ehsan F. Chowdhry designating the charge. Chowdhry and Hess presented the affidavit in support of an arrest warrant to the Honorable Patricia B. Roe, J.S.C., who approved signing of the complaint and set bail at $10,000 no 10%.
Detective Hess and Senior Parole Officer continued the investigation into the week of Monday December 21, 2015. It should be noted that Kimball is currently housed in Northern State Prison in Newark, New Jersey. He is there as a result of a parole supervision for life (PSL) violation and has a no bail warrant on that matter. On Wednesday December 23, 2015, law enforcement served Kimball without incident on this new charge. Kimball remains in custody and faces presentment of this charge to an Ocean County Grand Jury. The criminal complaint is now turned over for prosecution by Assistant Ocean County Prosecutor Ehsan F. Chowdhry. Kimball is facing the third (3rd) degree crime of failure to register. These statutes (N.J.S.A. 2C:7-1 through 2C:7-23) were passed on Monday October 31, 1994 by the New Jersey Legislature and are interchangeably referred to as Megan’s Law and / or Registration and Community Notification Laws. Ordinarily, the maximum potential punishment on this third (3rd) degree crime is five (5) years in New Jersey State Prison with up to a $15,000 fine.
Anyone with relevant information should contact Detective Adam J. Hess at (732) 929 2027 extension 2597. The information may be given anonymously. At this time there is no information on whether the defendant has an attorney. This charge is merely an accusation and the defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty or found guilty in a court of law.
Follow the Office of the Ocean County Prosecutor online at Twitter and Facebook. The social media links provided are for reference only. The OCPO does not endorse any non-governmental websites, companies or applications. For additional information visit our website at www.oceancountyprosecutor.org.