Blog

Home/Press Release/OFFENDER IGNORES REGISTRATION REQUIREMENT

OFFENDER IGNORES REGISTRATION REQUIREMENT

During the week of November 23, 2015, Sergeant Michael V. Cecchini of the Megan’s Law Unit of the Special Investigations Bureau of the Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office opened an investigation into twenty-six (26) year old Anthony M. Palazzo for the third (3rd) degree crime of failure to register out within 10 days of moving pursuant to Megan’s Law. Registrants are required by New Jersey state law to either register annually or every ninety (90) days with the police department of the municipality in which they reside and when they change addresses. The investigation revealed that Palazzo failed to register out with the Brick Township Police Department and was residing in Monmouth County.

Today (12/2), Sergeant Michael V. Cecchini, Detective John M. Argento of the Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office Megan’s Law Unit and Detective Sergeant Jay Fox from the Marlboro Police Department located and arrested Palazzo without incident. Palazzo was taken to the Monmouth County Correctional Facility and will be transferred to Ocean County Jail after processing. Bail was set at bail at $5,000 no 10%. Palazzo remains in custody pending posting bail and presentment of this charge to an Ocean County Grand Jury. The criminal complaint is now turned over for prosecution by Assistant Ocean County Prosecutor Ehsan F. Chowdhry.

Palazzo is facing the third (3rd) degree crime of failure to register out within 10 days of moving pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2d(1). These statutes (N.J.S.A. 2C:7-1 through 2C:7-23) were passed on Monday October 31, 1994 by the New Jersey Legislature and are interchangeably referred to as Megan’s Law and / or Registration and Community Notification Laws. Ordinarily, the maximum potential punishment on this third (3rd) degree crime is five (5) years in New Jersey State Prison with up to a $15,000 fine.

Anyone with relevant information should contact Sergeant Michael V. Cecchini at (732) 929 2027 extension 7918. The information may be given anonymously. At this time there is no information on whether the defendant has an attorney. This charge is merely an accusation and the defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty or found guilty in a court of law.

Follow the Office of the Ocean County Prosecutor online at Twitter and Facebook. The social media links provided are for reference only.  For additional information visit our website at www.oceancountyprosecutor.org.